Mike's World
Mike's World
Why I won't state my pronouns
0:00
-17:22

Why I won't state my pronouns

But I welcome others to share theirs if it feels right for them.

I worked in a drag bar in the late 2000s, where I interacted with all manner of gender expressions and sexual orientations in a way that felt natural and comfortable. However, I recently bumped into someone I’d worked with during that period who has since transitioned, and the encounter was incredibly awkward for reasons I didn’t understand at the time. In this podcast, I explore why something that used to feel natural now feels unnatural to me, in the context of today’s tension around pronouns and gender. Plus, I outline four reasons why I don’t and won’t participate in the new ritual of pronoun declarations.

0 Comments
Mike's World
Mike's World
Exploring horror, humour and human nature.